Macao Cultural Centre

Poetry and Sensibility in Romanticism

Organizer:Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao S.A.R. Government
14.01.2023    Sat 20:00 Grand Auditorium
$300, $250, $200, $150
Event Completed

Conductor: Zhu Qiyuan
Cello: Li-Wei Qin

Schumann: Overture to Manfred, Op. 115
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33
Schumann: Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, Op. 38 “Spring”

The insightful and romantic German composer Schumann assimilated the breath of spring into Symphony No. 1, a reason for why the composition is also commonly known as Spring. Qiyuan Zhu, the current Artistic Director of the China-Russia Symphony Orchestra and Head of Orchestra department at the Harbin Conservatory of Music, will conduct the Macao Orchestra in this Schumann piece and his “Manfred Overture”, fully demonstrating the composer’s powerful imagination. Li-Wei Qin, the silver medal winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition and one of the most sought after cellists in the music world, will also participate in the show performing Tchaikovsky’s classic masterpiece, Variations on a Rococo Theme. A wonderful concert not to be missed!

Approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes, including one interval.