Macao Cultural Centre

Fantasy of Four Seasons —Yu-Chien Tseng and Macao Orchestra

Organizer:Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao S.A.R. Government
04.03.2023    Sat 20:00 Grand Auditorium
$300, $250, $200, $150
Event Completed

Conductor│Lio Kuokman

Violin│Yu-Chien Tseng



Philip Glass: Violin Concerto No. 2 "American Four Seasons"

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70


The four seasons have inspired many composers and in this concert we can listen to the seasons’ charms presented by music master Philip Grass. Conductor Lio Kuokman invited Yu-Chien Tseng, from Taiwan, the top prize winner of the 2015 Tchaikovsky International Violin Competition, to perform together. In recent years the two have cooperated closely, reaching tacit understanding. A wonderful performance can be expected!

Philip Grass's Four Seasons in America does not define each movement as Spring, Summer, Fall or Winter. Therefore it’s up to fans to decide which season the music evokes according to the varying musical moods, which is quite interesting. In the last part, Lio Kwokman conducted the Macao Orchestra presenting Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 in D minor, a work praised by the British magazine The Athenæum as “one of the greatest masterpieces of its kind in the contemporary era”. The piece feature beautiful melodies full of vitality, tinged with a mix of joy and pain and oozing Slavic folk charm.