Macao Cultural Centre

Beethoven and Paganini

Organizer:Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao S.A.R. Government
Presenter:Macao Orchestra
01.07.2023    Sat 20:00 Grand Auditorium
$300, $250, $200, $150
Event Completed

Conductor & Violin: Svetlin Roussev


Franz Schubert: Rondo in A Major for Violin and Strings, D. 438

Niccolò Paganini: Violin Concerto No. 2 in B Minor, Op. 7 “La Campanella”

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Op. 60

Charismatic, internationally renowned, Bulgarian violin virtuoso Svetlin Roussev has been active on major music arenas worldwide, claiming many awards since winning the first prize at the 1st Sendai International Competition in 2001. This time acting as both the conductor and violin soloist, he will lead the Macao Orchestra in performing classics by three great composers. Paganini’s Violin Concerto No. 4 is widely acknowledged to be an extraordinarily virtuosic piece, while Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4 is light and graceful, yet energetic and powerful. German composer Schumann once likened the fourth symphony to something between Eroica and Destiny, just like a dainty Greek girl between two Nordic giants.